Everyone loves a good book with a great love story. The kind that tackles lasting love, hard love, passionate love, family love, you name it. Love is an addictive topic that your brain releases hormones and positive feelings, leaving anyone to want to experience love. Here are some books you can read that focus on five different types of love.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

This novel by Louisa May Alcott teaches readers the type of love called Storge, family love. Originally published in 1968, Little Women follow the story of the March sisters who stuck together despite the lowest times of their lives. The sisters comprise Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy March whose stories are loosely based on the author and her three sisters. The story revolves around the passage of the sisters from childhood to womanhood. The story starts out during the civil war in New England. The family was left to survive on their own due to their father serving the country. This is a novel addressing three major themes which are work, domesticity, and true love. Little Women is considered a family drama that validates virtue over wealth.

Honor God With Your Body by Troy Louis

Published in 2019, Louis wrote Honor God With Your Body to introduce to readers Philautia, defined as self-love. The book was written to protect readers from themselves and other bad advisors. Louis hopes to put the joy of one’s self-worth into the minds of readers in order to love themselves again. The definition of self-love on Honor God With Your Body helps readers know they are beautiful. Louis’ goal is to help readers know who they truly are apart from who they are trying to be. He hopes to guide readers on this journey and be free from critique and comparison. He wants readers to see what God has given and His desire for them to use the talents, gifts, and abilities to their greatest potential.

The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis

The Four Loves is a book that will teach readers the wider type of love called Agape, love of soul. In this 1960 book, readers are given the opportunity to explore the nature of love from a Christian and philosophical perspective. This allows contemplation of the essence of love and how it works in the daily lives of people. In the books, the four varieties of human love: affection, friendship, passionate love, and charity are examined. Lewis encourages readers to open themselves to every form of love there is. His reason is that these four loves are the key to understanding that will bring us closer to God.

The Art of Loving by Erich Fromm

Erich Fromm’s 1956 book, The Art of Loving, educates readers of Eros, passionate love. The book provides readers an overview of the forces that molds the way people think of “true love.” Readers can gain life-changing insights into the art of loving. This goes further from just sharing views but rather carries out the art of loving other people. Fromm highlights in the book the involvement of discipline, courage, patience, and other daily practices to love. He provides a strong analysis of the social factors and self-help advice regarding love. Through the book, readers can develop their ability to love.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity is a novel that will show readers the meaning of Philia, or affectionate love that is felt in friendship. The story is set during World War II and Nazi-occupied France. This is a story about friendship. It all started when a British spy plane crashed. The plane was occupied by best friends,Verity, passenger, and Maddie, pilot. One of the girls has a chance of survival. Their friendship is tested. Verity was taken into custody and is questioned about her relations with the other girl. Readers will be left on edge to know if their bond is strong enough for her to save her friend.