ReadersMagnet Review presents these five authors writing novels about werewolves and vampires.

Kerry Marzock

Kerry Marzock refers to herself as The Mystic Wolf and the prowler of dreams. As a child, she was already interested in horror films and literature. There is always something about the dark and mysterious world that interests her. In 2006, Marzock released her first literary work titled “A Sea of Emotion,” a poetry book. In the same year, she released her debut novel Raven’s Way and followed it up with Raven’s Rage – Order of the Claw in 2009. Marzock’s horror mystery novels set her apart from her contemporaries, writing novels about werewolves and vampires. Her works are a combination of mystery, detective narrative, horror, and magical saga. In 2011, Marzock released Along A Burning Highway, a collection of short stories and poetry. Her latest work is The Reptilian Factor, released in 2017.

Grady Hendrix

While not exclusively known for his horror novels, author, journalist, public speaker, and screenwriter Grady Hendrix is on our list because of the novels Horrorstör, The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires, My Best Friend’s Exorcism, The Final Girl Support Group, and Satan Loves You. He also wrote a collection of writings examining the paperback horror novels of the 70s and 80s, trends, and factors that made the horror genre popular. The non-fiction book is titled Paperbacks from Hell, and it was released in 2017. Grady Hendrix also wrote for The New York Post, Playboy Magazine, and as a film critic for The New York Sun. His latest work is a non-horror book called These Fists Break Bricks: How Kung Fu Movies Swept.

Quinn Loftis

For fans of horror novels featuring wolves, vampires, and witches (aside from Twilight bandwagons), you might want to check works by Quinn Loftis. Since 2011, Loftis has released dozens of horror novels featuring dark characters. Most of her books are romantic horrors, including notable works such as Prince of WolvesOut of the Dark, Just One DropFate and Furyand Sacrifice of Love, which make up her Grey Wolves Series. Overall, Quinn Loftis has around 30 plus horror novels under her name (mostly part of the Grey Wolves series). She writes along with the themes of romance, paranormal romance, adult-young fantasy, witches, and steampunk horror. Loftis has also written and published several chapbooks and short fiction collections. Her latest work is titled A Grey Wolves Howliday (2021).

Ilona Andrews

Ilona Andrews is actually the pen name of the husband and wife tandem of Ilona and Gordon. The duo is known for their dozens of books divided into book series, including Hidden Legacy series, Innkeeper Chronicles, Ryder series, The Edge, and other works of fiction. Their most notable book series is the Kate Daniels series which is composed of over a dozen novels. Kate Daniels is a fictional character launched in 2007 with the book Magic Bites. Kate is a mercenary who cleans up the paranormal world’s mess, battling various creatures and forces, including undead warriors. The latest Kate Daniels book is Magic Triumphs, released in 2018.

Robin McKinley

American author Robin McKinley is known primarily for her fantasy novels and children’s books. She has released around 50 works ranging from picture books to adaptations to standalone and book series. Her 1984 novel The Hero and the Crown is the winner of the John Newbery Medal as the year’s best new American children’s book. However, in 2003, McKinley published the novel Sunshine, which is a departure from her past works. It tells the story of Rae “Sunshine” Seddon, a young pastry maker who finds herself in the middle of a conflict between humans and vampires after a gang of vampires abducts her. Sunshine is a new tale of vampire-human arc and won the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature in 2004.