Good things come in threes. Here are the five trilogies to help you get by while forced to stay at home during this time of a great pandemic.

Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

Source: Amazon

The Millennium Book series is one of the most successful book trilogies from the last decade. Author Stieg Larsson originally planned to write ten books for the series, but due to his untimely death in 2004, only three books were finished. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest were all published posthumously in 2005, 2006, and 2007 respectively. The series follows introvert and skilled computer hacker Lisbeth Salander, who works with disgraced journalist Mikael Blomkvist in solving several crimes and conspiracies. After Larsson’s death, his publisher introduced Swedish author David Lagercrantz as the new author for the Millennium series. The first three books by Larsson already sold over 80 million copies worldwide in 2015. 

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman


Perhaps one of the most interesting fantasy series, His Dark Materials is a trilogy for all ages. Northern Lights (1995, also published as The Golden Compass in North America, The Subtle Knife (1997), and The Amber Spyglass (2000), follows the adventure of two young kids Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry as they travel to parallel universes. Filled with witches, gypsies, magic, and armored bears, Philip Pullman’s book deals with the theme of religion, spirituality, free will. The books have been awarded numerous accolades including the Carnegie Medal for children’s fiction in the UK in 1995, the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award for children’s and youth literature, and the 2001 Whitbread Book of the Year award. The books are often mentioned alongside other great fantasy trilogies such as The Lord of the Rings (Tolkien) and The Chronicles of Narnia (C.S. Lewis).

Jungle Rules Trilogy by Paul Shemella

Jungle Rule by Paul Shemella

The Jungle Rules Trilogy is a fiction book series by Paul Shemella, a retired Navy Captain and author of several books on counter-terrorism and national security. The trilogy is composed of Jungle Rules, A More Perfect Union (sequel), and The Dictator’s Revenge(prequel). Paul Shemella’s books center on the main protagonist, Carl Malinowski. Malinowski is a former SEAL operative turned mercenary, who dreams of one day retiring in peace with the love of his life Gabrielle. Jungle Rules Trilogy features past-face action scenes, explosive scenes and thrilling narratives reminiscent of David Morell’s First Blood and Robert Ludlum’s Bourne series. Jungle Rules trilogy also features a variety of social issues that are very much relevant in today’s America.

The Bourne Trilogy by Robert Ludlum

Source: Amazon

The trilogy that produced a television series, four blockbuster movies, and ten other novels, Robert Ludlum’s magnum opus ranks among the most celebrated spy novels of all time along with John le Carré’s Smiley series and Ian Fleming’s Bond novels. The trilogy consists of The Bourne Identity (1980), The Bourne Supremacy (1986), and The Bourne Ultimatum (1990). The series follows Jason Bourne (one of the many aliases by the main protagonist David Webb), a career Force Reconnaissance Marine Captain and his conflicts with several enemies both in and out of the United States government. The book series varies a little from the film adaptations featuring Hollywood action star Matt Damon. 

The Deptford Trilogy by Robertson Davies

Source: penguin random house

One of the most underrated book series from the last century, The Deptford Trilogy consists of Fifth Business (1970), The Manticore (1972), and World of Wonders (1975). The trilogy follows the story of a young boy (Percy) who throws a snowball at another (Dunstan), accidentally hitting a pregnant woman instead, and the aftermath of the incident. The books explore the long-term effects of the incident and how it changed the lives of the people involved. The novel is set in the fictional town of Deptford, Ontario. The Deptford trilogy is a saga that is filled with drama, morals, and bits of lore.