Janet Councilman is a children’s book author. Her book series feature animal characters.

Modern fables are fun to read. The narratives can range from wacky to out-of-this-world but they still offer valuable lessons. Some of the works remind us of the simple virtues that we need to uphold. Janet Councilman writes children’s animal books that focus on basic character traits that kids should learn.

Rocky the Respectful Raccoon and His Red Sunglasses

Rocky the Respectful Raccoon and His Red Sunglasses is the first book in Janet Councilman’s six-part series dealing with character traits taught in elementary schools. The main character is a raccoon named Rocky. He serves as the leader of a group of friends living in the Old Oak Woods. His friends include Spike the split-eared Squirrel, Tommie the Turtle, Ollie the Owl, Carmen the Cardinal, and many others. Raccoon helps his friends make the right decisions every time they are facing a problem. Each story in the series features a problem that the characters must overcome. Each of the stories ends on a positive note. In Rocky the Respectful Raccoon and His Red Sunglasses, the character Rocky stumbles upon a pair of big red sunglasses on a beautiful autumn day.

Rocky Raccoon and His Caring Classmates

Rocky Raccoon and His Caring Classmates is the third book in Janet Councilman’s series that deals with character traits taught in elementary schools. It tells the story of a raccoon named Rocky. Rocky heads up a Cookie Swap with the help of their school principal, the faculty, and the parents. The story is set in the Old Oak Woods during various seasons. This story takes place during the Holidays with the students baking cookies for the cookie swap. Each story features a dilemma that the characters successfully faced, ending each story on a positive note. 

Petie the Penguin and the Electric Igloo

Petie the Penguin is a story about an inquisitive penguin who loves to travel. Petie is a cool penguin who also loves to read. But Petie is a willful penguin. He is quite disobedient to his parents. Petie the Penguin decides to travel through the Ice Mountains without his parent’s permission. Petie’s travel led him to a beautiful Igloo in a village called Slipperyville. Tired and hungry from his travel, Petie decides to knock on the Igloo’s door. According to Councilman, Petie’s character is based on his brother Pete. While growing up in Graham, she used to tell her brother that if she wrote a book one day, she’d name the main character after him.

Sammie the Shark and the Return of the Lost Gift

Sammie the Shark and the Return of the Lost Gift is Janet Councilman’s latest book. Published in 2019, it tells the story of an adventurous shark named Sammie. Sammie and his friends live in a colorful Coral Bay. One day, Sammie stumbled upon a treasure. He sees a reflective item on the seafloor which turns out to be a special gift for a person. This lovely fable celebrates the virtues of thoughtfulness as well as fellowship towards others. Janet also imparts her appreciation for nature’s wonderful beauty and the wonders of animals living in their natural habitat.

About the Author

Janet Councilman is an author, artist, and designer from Burlington, North Carolina. She graduated from Ringling College of Art and Design. Her love of art and the beach is why she wrote “Sammie the Shark and the Return of the Lost Gift.” She has been drawing portraits of people, children, and pets since 2000. Janet also designs and makes cards.